Tuktuk Day 73

Pubkas Awards

Here’s one for all non league fans! The Pubkas Awards 2023/24

Pubkas Awards: Send us your best goals from amateur leagues – you could win a CASH prize

The brand new Pubkas Awards honour the best goals scored in Britain’s amateur football leagues in the 2023/24 season. Send us videos of the most beautiful efforts to be in with a chance of winning a cash prize and trophy – as well as the glory. You’ve heard of the Puskás Award – now it’s time for the Pubkas Awards.

Just like FIFA’s annual trophy, the brand new accolade recognises the beautiful game’s “most beautiful” goals. But solo efforts and screamers from GOAT contenders such as Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi and Seamus Coleman won’t be considered.

Instead, the Pubkas Awards will honour the finest goals scored in amateur football leagues only. So if you’ve captured a Sunday morning worldie or a pub team cracker on camera in the 2023/24 season, we want to see it.

To be in with a chance of winning, goals must be pure filth – in a good way. We’re talking acrobatic bicycle kicks, long range thunderbolts, cheeky rabonas, delicate chips, individual efforts and flowing team goals.

Ferenc Puskas (left), pictured leading Hungary out at Wembley in 1953, inspired the name of the award

Ferenc Puskas (front-left), pictured leading Hungary out at Wembley in 1953, inspired the name of the award 

Image: Popperfoto via Getty Images

Flukes, deflected strikes and any goals involving the dark arts or foul play will be immediately booted out of contention by our panel of expert judges tasked with shortlisting the best of the bunch.

The Puskás Award, named after legendary 1950s Real Madrid and Hungary forward Ferenc Puskás, is handed out “without distinction of gender” – and the Pubkas Awards are similarly inclusive in that respect.

Goals scored in both the men’s and women’s game, junior, open age and veterans leagues, will be accepted. Crucially, they have to have been scored in amateur competitions.

The competition is now open and will close at 6pm on Sunday May 19, which should be around the time the last ball is kicked in the Premier League this season. Once the judges have agreed on a shortlist of the best 10, voting will commence.

The three goals with the most votes at the end of the process, which closes at at 6pm on Sunday June 16, will each get an engraved trophy and a cash prize – as well as the glory, of course. First place will get £500, second place £300 and third place £200.

Send in your entries now to be in with a chance of winning. After all, if you don’t shoot…

I have certainly seen contenders at FC Deportivo Galicia and I am sure Christian and Darren have suggestions.


Leave a Comment